NURSES RULE

It’s been a year since my last nursing shift in the ER, yet I still think of myself as a nurse. It seems that being a nurse is a bit like being Catholic. Once a nurse, always a nurse, even if you’re no longer practicing. I guess that makes sense. I was twenty when I joined the profession and it’s been a huge part of my life ever since.

Nursing influenced how I raised my kids. Bikes came with helmets, rollerblades came with wrist guards and there was never to be any bouncing on trampolines or back flips off the diving board. Broken bones would heal but a broken neck is forever. And it was fine to eat a handful of dirt now and then. It kept their immune systems primed for the scary stuff the CDC was always warning us about.

Nursing took me to Hawaii where I found my soul mate, a handsome Aussie sitting in the shade of a banyon tree. We were both just passing through – he a flight attendant with Qantas and I a Traveling Nurse. I followed him to Sydney where nursing took some interesting twists and turns. All good fodder for another blog on another day.

Nursing taught me to appreciate each day. I saw bad things happen to good people and learned that trauma can take, or irreparably change, your life in an instant. In the end, it’s the simple pleasures which matter most. Family. Friendships. Sunset over the mountains. Nursing kept me grounded. Bearing witness to real life drama will do that.

Everyone should have at least one nurse in the family to share the inside scoop on hospitals and healthcare. For those who don’t have a nurse to call your own, I have a few tips that may help you navigate your way through your next ER visit.

Nurses are, for the most part, nurturers who will treat you with compassion – unless you piss them off and give them a reason not to. The ball’s in your court.

The doctor may be the one to order your narcotic but it is your nurse who controls how quickly you receive it. Once again… the ball’s in your court.

If the triage nurse tells you to take a seat in the waiting room, it doesn’t mean she doesn’t believe how miserable you feel. If you are actually dying, you will be taken straight back to the trauma room. So don’t envy anyone who is taken before you. Someday, it may be you who is rushed straight back, and you will wish you were stable enough to take a seat.

If you plan to complain that you have been vomiting for days and can’t keep a single thing down, hide the Red Bull and wipe the Cheetos dust off your lips before you sign in. Nurses notice those sorts of things.

Don’t think that you have to cough in everyone’s face or retch loudly enough to be heard throughout the ER to be taken seriously. Most ER nurses hold to the theory that there is an inverse proportion between the volume of the retching and the actual level of discomfort. The less drama, the more credible you will appear.

Whenever possible, have someone stay with you. Someone calm, who realizes that this time it is all about you and not an opportunity for them to share their war stories. But don’t let them stand, glaring, in the doorway. It won’t speed up your test results and nurses tend to spend more time in rooms where the hostility level is low.

There are so many more tips I would love to share but it is time for a walk in the sunshine before the sun sets behind those mountains. If you promise to keep following my blog, I promise I’ll do my best to keep you entertained. It will not always be about nursing. Life is far too entertaining to stick with one subject. But nursing will likely feature prominently. Forty years in hospitals around the world have produced more than a few interesting stories.

About Carol Bryant

Hi. My name is Carol Bryant. I'm a transplanted New Yorker, living in the shadows of the Rocky Mountains. While it was skiing that initially drew me to Colorado, it's been the laid-back, outdoor lifestyle which has kept me here for nearly 30 years. I'm a writer, nurse, travel agent and mediocre tennis player. I began my writing career 20 years ago, writing essays and magazine articles. Recently, I completed my first manuscript and am currently seeking representation for this work. It's a memoir of my nursing career which spans two continents, forty years and some of the most intriguing characters who have ever entered a hospital. I’ve been told that if I ever hope to have my memoir published, I need to establish a platform – a following of readers who enjoy my writing. So, I am shamelessly asking for you to become part of that platform. I plan to blog on various topics that I find entertaining. If you are entertained, moved to cry or laugh out loud, then I have accomplished what I have set out to do. I feel as if I am taking that first, timid step out onto the frozen lake, hoping that the ice will hold me. It’s scary as hell but I’ll give it a go. After some of the things I have faced down in my 40 years of nursing, how bad can blogging be? It beats shaving scrotums.
This entry was posted in Nursing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to NURSES RULE

  1. Elkay says:

    So glad to read your blog!

    Like

  2. Phil says:

    So much experience, but who will listen ?

    Like

  3. lauren bryant says:

    I have learned so much from you in my short life…the blip above doesn’t do justice to the knowledge you emcompase. I am so lucky to have you as the nurse in my life to provide tips, wisdom, advice and comfort.

    Like

  4. Brenda Harding says:

    Carol- As a former ER nurse myself, I thoroughly enjoyed your blog above. Several chuckles along the way while I was reading. Thanks for the memories and the laughs and I can’t wait to read your next blog!

    Like

  5. jean hopkins says:

    What wonderful writing! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I promise to follow all your ER advice next time…although hopefully there won’t be a next time….in Montefiores lovely ER!

    Like

  6. Thanks Jean! Glad you enjoyed it.

    Like

  7. Gerry Fitzgerald says:

    Another good read, Carol. Keep ’em coming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

