HUATULCO

Pristine… Unspoiled… A tropical paradise… Travel writers use these words so often that I had begun to think of them as merely clichés. That is, until I came to Huatulco and gazed out over the pristine bay, where sea turtles bobbed to the surface for a quick breath before descending back down into the crystal clear water. I marveled at the unspoiled beauty of a deserted beach, where mine were the only footprints in the coarse golden sand, gently exfoliating my feet as I strolled along the water’s edge. And I dozed in the shade of an oversized palapa, after a morning spent kayaking and snorkeling the calm waters of this tropical paradise.

Huatulco is unlike any other beach destination I have visited in Mexico. As a travel agent, I have been to most of the major tourist areas on both coasts, inspecting the resorts and experiencing what makes each destination unique. I know… it’s a tough job. As much as I love Playa del Carmen and Cozumel, Puerto Vallarta and Ixtapa, I kept hearing that I should have seen them ten or twenty years ago, before the developers paved paradise. For once, I have arrived in time to see the real beauty of Mexico.

You too need to see Huatulco now, before it changes. It is nature in its most simple beauty. Yes, a few developers have arrived and there are some upscale all-inclusive resorts along with the more traditional small hotels in town. But there are no fast food restaurants. No big box stores. No chain restaurants. Taxis are still cheap. Really. But remember to bring cash and leave your plastic at home. The locals are friendly and welcoming but they are not impressed with your gold card. Pesos are the currency of choice and bargaining is still an art form.

Recently, my husband and I shared a magical day that will stay with us forever. We hired a panga – a flat bottomed boat – for the day, to snorkel in a few of the bays which are only accessible by sea. Our guide, Captain Gilberto, dropped a line in the water as we cruised along the rugged coastline of the national park. Not long after, he had snagged a ten pound Mahi Mahi which my husband struggled to reel in. Within an hour or so, as we snorkeled in San Augustine Bay, our Mahi Mahi was grilled for our lunch at one of the handful of small, beachfront restaurants. The cerveza was cold. The grilled fish was hot. And the hammocks gently rocked us for our afternoon siesta by the sea.

Pristine, unspoiled, tropical paradise does still exist. You just need to know where to look.

About Carol Bryant

Hi. My name is Carol Bryant. I'm a transplanted New Yorker, living in the shadows of the Rocky Mountains. While it was skiing that initially drew me to Colorado, it's been the laid-back, outdoor lifestyle which has kept me here for nearly 30 years. I'm a writer, nurse, travel agent and mediocre tennis player. I began my writing career 20 years ago, writing essays and magazine articles. Recently, I completed my first manuscript and am currently seeking representation for this work. It's a memoir of my nursing career which spans two continents, forty years and some of the most intriguing characters who have ever entered a hospital. I’ve been told that if I ever hope to have my memoir published, I need to establish a platform – a following of readers who enjoy my writing. So, I am shamelessly asking for you to become part of that platform. I plan to blog on various topics that I find entertaining. If you are entertained, moved to cry or laugh out loud, then I have accomplished what I have set out to do. I feel as if I am taking that first, timid step out onto the frozen lake, hoping that the ice will hold me. It’s scary as hell but I’ll give it a go. After some of the things I have faced down in my 40 years of nursing, how bad can blogging be? It beats shaving scrotums.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HUATULCO

  1. Phil Bryant says:

    I was there and can attest to every word – it’s truly lovely. Very eco-friendly, clean as a whistle, 9 deserted sandy bays in the national park, no trash in the streets, no high-rises, 2 hurricanes in 17 years – what’s not to like ?

    Like

  2. juliovaz says:

    Sounds wonderful, Carol. I’ll have to keep it in mind for next year – not enough vacation time this year. Makes Aruba sound modern by comparison.

    Like

  3. diannegray says:

    It sounds absolutely beautiful, Carol. These unspoiled places are so rare now (unfortunately). If I ever make it to Mexico, I’ll certainly go there.

    Like

  4. Pingback: HUATULCO | carolbryantblog

  5. Virginia Smith says:

    Dreamy 🙂

    Like

  6. Cassie says:

    I wish I could book this trip right now! You had me at “the only footprints in the sand were my own.” That sounds perfect. You’re a great travel agent AND a great travel writer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

